NASCAR is back: How to watch Sunday’s race without cable


Shawn Gritzmacher

NASCAR is gassing up the tanks and warming up the tires. After suspending its season two months ago and racing in simulators to pass the time, NASCAR is set to return to the track on Sunday at the Darlington Raceway. 

NASCAR is one of the first sports to return, but Sunday’s race will look and operate differently than before the coronavirus outbreak. There will be no qualifying or practice before the race, and no fans will be in attendance. In addition, teams will be limited to 16 people, who must pass temperature screenings and wear face masks. (Because NASCAR is never shy about using any blank surface as an advertising opportunity, don’t be surprised to see ads on face masks worn by race personnel on Sunday.)

How to watch NASCAR without cable

NASCAR has reorganized its race schedule and announced races through the third week in June.

  • May 17: Darlington Raceway at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) on Fox
  • May 31: Bristol Motor Speedway at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) on FS1
  • June 7: Atlanta Motor Speedway at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT) on Fox
  • June 14: Homestead–Miami Speedway at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m.
Read More View More NASCAR is back: How to watch Sunday’s race without cable